Case No:
immigration to Canada
Quick Start
Optimum Group
Client Services
Reach Us
Canada Immigration Newsletter
Subscribe to Optimum Newsletter

Home >>Provincial Nominee Program

Provincial Nominee Program

Most provinces in Canada have programs to encourage immigrants to settle in their province and benefit their economies.
Canada and its Provinces have entered into agreements that allow a person to be nominated by the Provincial Government and to be issued an Immigrant Visa without having to meet the pass mark that is required for skilled worker immigrants.

As a result, individual Provinces are responsible for issuing nomination certificates. If you are successful in convincing a Province that you have a skill or business which is in high demand for that particular Province, the Province will issue you a certificate, provided that you meet all other statutory and admissibility requirements of Citizenship and Immigration Canada and that you can become economically established. You will then be issued an Immigrant Visa for entry into Canada.

The requirements and procedures for the Provincial Nominee Programs differ from Province to Province depending upon the needs and experience. If your skill is in high demand, the Provincial Nominee Program may be recommended to you.

Most provinces in Canada have an agreement with the Government of Canada that allows them to play a more direct role in selecting immigrants who wish to settle in that province. If you wish to immigrate to one of Canada's provinces as a Provincial Nominee, you must first apply to the province where you wish to settle. The province will consider your application based on their immigration needs and your genuine intention to settle there.

Before applying to immigrate to Canada, Provincial Nominees must complete the provincial nomination process.
Note: After you have been nominated by a province, you have to make a separate application to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) for permanent residence. A CIC officer will assess your application based on Canadian immigration regulations.
Provincial Nominees are not assessed on the six selection factors of the Federal Skilled Workers Program.

British Columbia
New Brunswick
New FoundLand and Labrador
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island
Yukon Territory
Copyright © 2010. All Rights Reserved.